Crowley crowned at HWPA awards

Jim Crowley topped off a memorable 2016 as he was named Jockey of the Year at the 50th annual Horserace Writers & Photographers Derby Awards Lunch in London on Monday.

Jim Crowley: HWPA Jockey of the Year

The new champion Flat jockey faced stiff competition in the category as he was up against leading apprentice Josephine Gordon, National Hunt champion Richard Johnson and Ryan Moore, but Crowley just got the nod.

Aidan O'Brien has enjoyed a stellar Flat season, and he was voted Trainer of the Year, seeing off Laura Mongan, Willie Mullins and Colin Tizzard to lift the prize.

Coolmore, whose horses are mainly trained by O'Brien, was named the Owner of the Year ahead of Jean Bishop, Ontoawinner, Strecker & Burke and Susannah Ricci.

Like Us on Facebook

Charlie Appleby received the prize for International Trainer of the Year, an award decided by the International Racing Bureau. The Godolphin trainer, who has had a fruitful time in Australia lately, won ahead of David O'Meara, Sir Michael Stoute and Roger Varian.

Tom Kerr won the Clive Graham Trophy for Racing Writer while the second award for a journalist, the John Oaksey Trophy for the Racing Reporter of the Year, was claimed by Marcus Townend. Both were first-time winners of their respective prizes.

The Peter O'Sullevan Trophy for Broadcaster of the Year went to Nick Luck, who was claiming the title for a record seventh time, beating John Hunt, Matt Chapman and Simon Holt to the prize.

Edward Whitaker was named Photographer of the Year for a seventh time, with Patrick McCann claiming back-to-back victories in the Picture of the Year category for his photograph of horses jumping a hurdle at Bellewstown framed by a rainbow.

Geoff Greetham from Timeform gained the George Ennor Trophy for Outstanding Achievement, in recognition of his work on the Timeform annuals and more.

The Qatar Racing & Equestrian Club Arabian award, to recognise outstanding achievement in Arabian racing, was won by owner, breeder, sponsor and patron Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum.

Read More at Sporting Life

Leave us a comment!

Share this story:


Subscribe to our Newsletter today to receive Free Horse Racing Tips.

Simply fill out the form below and wait for the Free Tips to land in your inbox.

You May Also Like