Jockey Club launch ‘McCoys’

Jockey Club Racecourses in the South West of England unveil awards for owners, trainers, jockeys, stable staff and horses.

The new awards have been named after Sir Anthony McCoy

They have been called the "McCoys" after Sir A P McCoy, the recording-breaking 20-time Champion Jump Jockey who retired from race riding in April, 2015.

There will be awards for owners, trainers, jockeys, stable staff and horses running at Cheltenham and the three other Jockey Club Racecourses in the South West of England, Warwick, Wincanton and Exeter.

Ian Renton explained: "The four courses in our region, Cheltenham, Exeter, Warwick and Wincanton, are devoted entirely to Jump Racing and, with so many of our leading trainers and jockeys based in the South West, we feel it is important to recognise this great region and we are delighted to be launching the inaugural McCoys.

"We want to highlight all the fantastic racing that takes places at the four racecourses across the season and we have a number of categories to celebrate the champions and achievements of both equine and human stars.

"Jump Racing in the South West is very competitive and I am sure that these awards will only strengthen that position."

The awards themselves will be announced on Friday, October 27, 2017, the evening of the first raceday of the season at Cheltenham.

Sir Anthony McCoy commented: "I'm delighted that the new Jockey Club South West region awards are to be called the McCoys.

Like Us on Facebook

"I have many happy memories of riding at all the four courses during my career and will now take extra interest in the racing at Warwick, Cheltenham, Wincanton and Exeter this season!

"I shall very much look forward to the awards next autumn and being on the judging panel."

The awards, run between September 20, 2016 and May 25, 2017 inclusive at Cheltenham, Exeter, Warwick and Wincanton, are for the following:-

1. Leading Owner (i) less than four horses (ii) more than four horses – decided on number of wins & then placings.

2. Leading Trainer (i) less than 40 horses (ii) more than 40 horses – decided on number of wins & then placings.

3. Leading Jockey (i) professional (ii) conditional (iii) amateur – decided on number of wins & then placings.

4. Leading Horse (i) novice hurdler (ii) hurdler (iii) novice chaser (iiii) chaser (iv) overall – judges' choice

5. Stable person (from yards in Cornwall, Devon, Somerset, Dorset, Wiltshire, Hampshire, Oxfordshire, Gloucestershire, Warwickshire, Herefordshire, Worcestershire and South Wales. Nominated by the trainer) – judges' choice.

6. Ride of the season (judges' choice)

7. Pony Race Ride of the season

8. The McCoy Award – for outstanding achievement

The longstanding frequent-runner scheme for trainers at Cheltenham, aimed at boosting field sizes, will continue as in previous seasons and the winner's presentation will take place at the same time as the McCoys.

The panel of judges for the McCoys is broadcaster Alice Plunkett, Regional Head of Racing Simon Claisse, Chris Cook, a racing journalist for The Guardian, and Sir Anthony McCoy.

Read More at Sporting Life

Leave us a comment!

Share this story:


Subscribe to our Newsletter today to receive Free Horse Racing Tips.

Simply fill out the form below and wait for the Free Tips to land in your inbox.

You May Also Like