More silverware for miraculous Minding at HRI Awards

Minding: a champion from a mile to a mile and a half

PICTURE: Patrick McCann ( More silverware for Minding at HRI Awards By Lewis Porteous 5:55PM 5 DEC 2016

MULTIPLE Group 1 winner Minding added yet another title to her jam-packed CV on Monday when she was crowned Horse of the Year at the Horse Racing Ireland Awards at Leopardstown racecourse.

Trained by Aidan O'Brien and owned by Derrick Smith, Mrs John Magnier and Michael Tabor, Minding won five of her seven Group 1 races in 2016, including the Qipco 1,000 Guineas and Investec Oaks.

Having dominated her own sex from a mile to a mile and a half, she then defeated the boys in the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes at Ascot in October.

Minding's record-breaking trainer Aidan O'Brien was also among the winners as he lifted the Flat Award, while Ireland's champion jumps trainer Willie Mullins received the National Hunt Award.

O'Brien was recognised after a year that included 22 Group 1 wins across the world, and an impossible 1-2-3 in the Qatar Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe. Success for Mullins follows another fantastic season that included seven wins at the Cheltenham Festival in March.

Brian Kavanagh, chief executive of the HRI, presented the Contribution to the Industry Award to Maureen Mullins, an integral part of the Irish racing for the best part of six decades and married to one of Ireland's greatest ever trainers, the late Paddy Mullins.

Like Us on Facebook

Kavanagh said: "It was a pleasure to present the Contribution to the Industry Award to a very special lady who is a most deserving winner.

"From the likes of Hurry Harriet, Dawn Run, Grabel and Vintage Tipple, Maureen has witnessed the highs of racing on many occasions and is without doubt one of the most popular figures on the Irish racing scene."

Grand National-winning trainer Mouse Morris won the Outstanding Achievement Award, while jockey Jamie Codd picked up the Point-To-Point Award after winning a second national rider's title.

The Racecourse of the Year Award, selected by the Racegoers' Consultative Forum based upon the best all-round customer experience, went to Galway.

Winners at the HRI Awards

Horse of the Year Award: Minding

National Hunt Award: Willie Mullins

Flat Award: Aidan O'Brien

Contribution to the Industry Award: Mrs Maureen Mullins

Outstanding Achievement Award: Mouse Morris

Point-To-Point Award: Jamie Codd

Racecourse of the Year Award: Galway Racecourse

    Read More at Racing Post

    Leave us a comment!

    Share this story:


    Subscribe to our Newsletter today to receive Free Horse Racing Tips.

    Simply fill out the form below and wait for the Free Tips to land in your inbox.

    You May Also Like