Mrs Danvers returns for Cornwallis

Mrs Danvers will bid to maintain her unbeaten record when stepping up to Pattern-race company for the first time in the Newmarket Academy Godolphin Beacon Project Cornwallis Stakes.

Mrs Danvers: Runs in the Cornwallis

The cheaply-bought two-year-old, winner of this year's Weatherbys Super Sprint, will bid to make it five wins from as many starts when attempting to give trainer Jonathan Portman a second win in the Group Three having taken it in 2014 with Royal Razalma.

Robert Cowell is double-handed in the five-furlong dash with Norfolk Stakes winner Prince Of Lir and Visionary, while Yalta, who has been out of luck in two starts since winning the Molecomb at Goodwood, represents Mark Johnston.

Clem Fandango, from the yard of Keith Dalgleish, is another stepping back up in grade having been successful in Listed company last time out, along with the Aidan O'Brien-trained Navan maiden winner Courage Under Fire, who had previously finished fifth at the same level at York.

Follow Us on Twitter

The field is completed by Afandem (Hugo Palmer), Battaash (Charlie Hills), Nuclear Power (William Muir), Sayesse (Mick Channon) and Rose Berry (Chris Dwyer).

Andre Fabre runs Maisons-Laffitte maiden winner Double Lady in the Oh So Sharp Stakes.

The master French handler sent out Miss France to capture the seven-furlong Group Three prize in 2013 before returning her to the track to win the 1000 Guineas the following year.

Marco Botti is the only other trainer seeking a second win in the race as Raven's Lady will bid to match the efforts of Raymi Coya in 2007.

David Simcock is responsible for two of the 13 runners after declaring both Mystic Dawn and Pellucid, while Richard Hughes, who failed to win the race as a jockey, will be represented by Paco's Angel.

William Haggas' Glitter Girl attempts to make it four wins from just six starts, while the Roger Varian-trained Pichola Dance will bid back up her recent wins at Kempton and last time out over course and distance in her hat-trick bid.

The field is completed by Asidious Alexander (Simon Crisford), Grecian Light (Charlie Appleby), Groupie (Richard Hannon), Miss Infinity (Mark Johnston), Poet's Vanity (Andrew Balding) and Unforgetable Filly (Hugo Palmer).

Read More at Sporting Life

Leave us a comment!

Share this story:


Subscribe to our Newsletter today to receive Free Horse Racing Tips.

Simply fill out the form below and wait for the Free Tips to land in your inbox.

You May Also Like