O’Brien targets the Futurity

Aidan O'Brien has a strong hand in the Futurity

Aidan O'Brien is responsible for eight of the 13 horses to stand their ground at the confirmation stage for Sunday's Galileo Irish EBF Futurity Stakes at the Curragh.

The Ballydoyle handler has saddled 10 previous winners of the seven-furlong Group Two, with Giant's Causeway (1999), Hawk Wing (2001), Gleneagles (2014) and this year's dual 2000 Guineas hero Churchill (2016) among those on the roll of honour.

This year's squad includes dual course winner Fleet Review and Mendelssohn, who impressed on his second start at the track just a week ago.

Like Us on Facebook

O'Brien said: "All the horses we left in the Futurity Stakes are possibles at this stage and we'll have a look at it later in the week."

The O'Brien octet is completed by Berkeley Square, Bond Street, Coat Of Arms, Nelson, Rostropovich and Seahenge.

Camelback has won two of his three starts for Ger Lyons, while the Michael O'Callaghan-trained I Am Power could renew rivalries with Fleet Review, having finished just a length behind him here a fortnight ago.

Ken Condon's Romanised, who was a little disappointing in last week's Phoenix Stakes, dual Group Three runner-up Theobald, trained by Jim Bolger, and Swiss Cottage from Joe Murphy's yard are the other contenders.

Read More at Sky Sports Racing

Leave us a comment!

Share this story:


Subscribe to our Newsletter today to receive Free Horse Racing Tips.

Simply fill out the form below and wait for the Free Tips to land in your inbox.

You May Also Like